The Secret Garden Book Cover Redesigned

LayDown

 

I chose to redesign the book cover of “The Secret Garden” by Frances Hodgson Burnett. This was one of my favorite childhood books, but as I started to research current covers for it I realized that they were not very appealing for children. All of the covers for this book seem dated, with a florid, detailed style giving them a stuffy, old-fashioned feel. While the story is old, the book is fun and interesting for children, and I wanted to make the cover express that.

Up

I kept my cover simple with clean lines and vector images. I used bright colors to resonate with children, girls especially, and gave the book cover a fresh feel. I also included key symbols in the cover, like the birds and the flowers from the garden. With all of these factors combined, I am satisfied at the end result of my book cover.

StandUp

Leave a Reply

